My dog Tikki

Tikki collage
The story of Tikki really begins with a dog named "Jack". While living in San Francisco, my wife and I baby-sat a yorkshire terrier called "Jack" for some friends of ours. A sleep-over. Jack was about 6-8 lbs. and very friendly. Very lickee (the dog was all tongue). We both loved Jack. The lets-get-a-yorkie wheels starting turning in my wife's head.

We found a yorkie puppy for sale in Oakland off of a Yahoo.com classified ad. A woman renting a studio apartment, had to give up her yokie or face eviction. She would hide her ownership of the dog (from her landlord) by pretending it was her cousin's and she was looking after it for the weekend. The landlord caught on and gave her an ultimatum—either the dog goes or you both go.

So we trecked over the Bay Bridge to Oakland for a visit. Or at least I thought it was just a visit (more on that later).

Tikki at 6 monthsWe sat down with the owner in her 10×10 apartment, and this little rug rat jumped up on the back of the couch we were sitting on, walked behind our heads while checking my wife and I out. Her black fur jetted-out in spikes and made her look like Joan Jett the morning after. Honestly, she looked like the ugly duckling of the litter and weighed about 2 lbs. She reminded me of a baby Ewok.

Well come to find out, my wife had already talked to the owner and told her we were taking Tikki home tonight. I had no idea. I just wanted to look at the dog and think about it overnight. I told the owner this and she started to cry. She was emotionally preparing to let the dog go that night. Needless to say, we came back the next night and took Tikki home for good.

She's now 5 1/2 years old and 6 1/2 lbs. and her fur has gone from black to black & tan.

I figured my dog deserves a mention in this blog for all the love and dedication she gives me.
Meditating Tikki

2 responses to “My dog Tikki

Leave a Reply

